Family! You can’t choose them but I got lucky with mine.  This week I’ve not had a second to concentrate on much else except them.  It’s been a whirlwind of visitors culminating in a fabulous family gathering this week, celebrating my aunts 80th birthday party.

I’ve just realised I come from a fantastic gene pool with some extremely spritely octogenarians! They can bust some moves on a dance floor still, putting us youngsters to shame.  Talk about kicking your heels up to Auld Lang Syne!  One handsome old uncle still has a head of dark grey hair at 83 and left with a few younger female admirers.  Old fox!  

The crooner, Michael Buble had nothing on this guy

I found it an incredible tonic meeting up with cousins, aunts and uncles who I grew up with and who live further apart now, spread round the UK.  The family resemblance is strong amongst almost all of us, dark haired and blazing blue eyed for the most part. It’s nice to feel part of that.  That you belong.  We are an incredibly close family despite distance and time apart. 

Some of my old uncles are just natural comedians.  My face actually physically hurt from laughing all night and the old stories of years gone by are so heartwarming.  Treasured memories…..and CAKE!!!

Diet Status : Burst

This week will also see me bid farewell to my eldest daughter who is going to travel the world. Eek!  For 6 whole months. ‘Why don’t you just rip my heart out and trample it’ I say to her as she rolls her eyes….

Bought shares in Kleenex

After leaving home 5 years ago, for a summer in the South of France, she landed a fabulous job for a yachting company and up till now, has worked there since!  She’s been back home for a week until she leaves.  I’ve gotten used to her not living at home, I have 3 other children to keep me busy but there’s not a day that goes by I don’t think about her, worry about her, miss her and wish she was here with me so you perhaps may imagine how I feel now, parting with her again to go travelling the world for 6 months and unable just to pop on a flight to visit!
I have a mixture of emotions going on ranging from elation to dread and worry.  No matter how much I try to control my fears, they always get the better of me!  She’ll start off in Canada with relatives for several weeks (which is great) and then move onto Florida & New York, SE Asia, Bali, Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, I think are some of her stops!  New Zealand and Australia are last before home in February.  My stomach is sick as I type! 
Toronto
Bali
Australia
I google images like this regularly to talk myself round. This is what she’s going to see, how lucky she is, how I wished I’d been able when I was her age etc! It settles my nerves a little.  This is the downside of being a Mum.  I remember my own Mum going to pieces when my sister left for Canada 30 years ago and there was no such thing as FaceTime then!  Bless her.
Now my daughter won’t be alone.  She is travelling with her handsome beau (who I hope will be my son in law one day!).  He’s a fantastic guy and together they are very capable and have bags of common sense.  It’s a comfort that they are going together and have each other to rely on. Doesn’t stop my mind from imagining all sorts of horrors however! The world isn’t such a nice place these days sadly. 

So I know I need to 

  • Man up
  • Grow a pair
  • Pull myself together
  • Get a grip 
  • All of the above 

Before tomorrow morning.  I can do this, I can do this…..Wish me luck 😬

