If, like me, you’re always looking for something new to binge on ‘tellywise’,

If, like me, the thought of celebrity reality shows/talent shows leave you more than just cold,

If, like me, you’ve had to claim on the house insurance because you’ve put your boot through the telly,


Please
don’t resort to sticking hot knitting needles in your eyes/ears/other orifices in despair because help is at hand in the enormously gripping new(ish) shape of this new 80s themed drama series on Netflix:

There are NO spoiler alerts here because I want to leave all the nostalgia, mystery & intrigue for you to discover on your own but immediately, just from the title font you’ll feel something familiar (if indeed you’re an 80s kid).  Here’s a link explaining the typography if you’re interested: 

Stranger Things Typography

Another thing you may feel is that you might shit your pants at any moment, whilst peeking through your fingers but I’m the worlds biggest fearty*and I watched it. On my own.  In the dark.  Suffering flu symptoms. So man up ok.  It’s worth it. 

*wimp
Then there’s the nods to some 80s classics such as: 

  • ET
  • Stand by Me
  • The Goonies
  • Close Encounters

To name but a few along with a gorgeous electronic soundtrack. 

The child actors are incredible and Winona Ryder (who seems to have disappeared from our screens in real life, perhaps after the clepto incident at Saks Fifth Avenue, where she was caught with sticky fingers?), is sensational. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve always been a fan and who am I to judge? Sometimes the most gifted souls are the most troubled, are they not? Anyhoozles, I love her.  Her mannerisms, dark eyes and complexion are perfect for this role.

One other to look out for and I’ll say no more, is ‘Eleven’ (or El) She. Is. Magnificent.


Watch how you can comprehend every emotion that flickers across her brilliant, beautiful face. Star of the future, I feel.  Superb.

If you’re Scottish (or British etc) you might get the fact that every time they call out her name, “ELEVEN!!”,  I’d feel the urge to mimic them in the Burnistoun, Voice Recognition Elevator style. For those of you reading this from across the Atlantic and round the world, here’s a link to some Brilliant Scottish humor/humour from the comedy series Burnistoun. Get clicking.

Voice Recognition Elevator

Do please let me know how you liked it, either way 👍🏻👎🏻  and remember, you don’t have to be a cool 80s kid to participate 😉

